Historical Highlights

Historical and Information Highlights

  • 1780 The Asagba stool introduced {Eze asa-nwe-agba} Obi Nenmo of Umuagu, formally gets the “Eze Asaba new-agba” (meaning the only Eze with wealth and stature) (Agba) to summon and preside overall other title holders of Asaba.
  • 19th century Introduction of the Onoi and Oloto
  • 1806 First Ayiwe (Eze-Ugbolo) of Asaba
  • 1876 Church Missionary Society [CMS] sets up a mission
  • 1878 A trade embargo was imposed on the Europeans [British} to force them to review their pricing policy; as the community was largely homogeneous and integrated, decrees or prohibitions were always effective by the force or the sanctions of general community spirit.
  • This prohibition affected the traders and missionaries who remained on the bank of the Niger.
  • 1880 First Primary School established by the CMS at Abu-Ato. During the same year a college and a parsonage were also build at Ogbe-afor.
  • 1884 Treaty between Her Majesty Queen Victoria of the UK, represented by the British Consul, Edward Hyde Hewit and the kings.
  • African Mission sets up headquarters in Asaba.
  • 1886 Asaba became the Administrative Headquarters of the Royal Niger Company.
  • 1888 Asaba bombarded by the British under the pretext of stopping slavery.
  • 1889 British Administrators succeeded the royal Niger Company. Cultural importance of Asaba highlighted by the selection of its music and recreation as those of the communities in the area.
  • 1900 January 1, 1900, the Union Jack was hoisted in Asaba by Sir Ralph Moore in place of the flag of the Royal Niger Company.
  • 1918 The Roman Catholic Vicarage of Western Nigeria was established with its headquarters at Asaba.
  • 1925 The Principle of rotating the “Asagba Stool” among the five quarters introduced.
  • 1978 Asaba became headquarters of Oshimili Local government Area of Bendel State.
  • 1991 Asaba named Capitol of Delta State.